Wrigley Products and Animal Derived Ingredients

On Mon, Feb 22, 2010 at 9:00 AM, <PR@wrigley.com> wrote:
Dear Ali,

Thank you for contacting the Wrigley Company to inquire about the use of animal-derived ingredients in our products sold in the United States.

The majority of Wrigley products sold in the U.S. are free from ingredients of animal origin, including egg and dairy products.  A list of these acceptable products is included or attached with this response.

While a small percentage of the products we sell in the U.S. may contain ingredients of animal origin, we take great strides to ensure our products are free from any animal-based ingredients in geographies with dietary restrictions preventing such ingredients.  For example, all Wrigley products sold in the Middle East and Indonesia are free from animal-derived ingredients.

Our priority is, and always will be, to manufacture only the highest quality confectionery products using ingredients that meet the needs of our customers around the world.  By understanding our global customers and adjusting product offerings accordingly, we are able to deliver great tasting confections to more than 180 countries.

We hope this information is helpful.  If you have any additional questions or comments please feel free to contact us at 1-800-WRIGLEY Monday through Friday from 8:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. CST.

U.S. Wrigley Products Without Animal-Derived Ingredients

•        Wrigley’s Spearmint® gum
•        Doublemint® gum and mints
•        Big Red® gum
•        Juicy Fruit® stick gum
•        Winterfresh® gum
•        Five® Cobalt, Rain, Flare and Lush gums
•        Extra® Cinnamon, Bubble Gum, Peppermint, Spearmint, Winterfresh, Cool Green
Apple, Cool Watermelon, Supermint, Berry Pearadise and Fruit Sensations flavors
•        Eclipse® gum and mints
•        Hubba Bubba® chunk and tape gums
•        Big League Chew® shredded gum
•        Freedent® gum
•        Orbit® Bubblemint, Wintermint, Peppermint, Spearmint, Cinnamint, Sweetmint,
Citrusmint, Fabulous Fruitini, Lemon Lime, Maui Melon Mint, Mint Mojito,
Raspberry Mint and Sangria Fresca
•       Orbit® WhiteTM pellet gums
•       LifeSavers® hard candies and LifeSavers® lollipops
•       Altoids® Sours and Altoids® gum
•       Skittles® candies

Note:  Slight changes to product recipes can occur from time to time.  Please feel free to contact us at 1-800-WRIGLEY any time to answer any ingredient questions that arise.

Sincerely,

Melissa Kepple
Consumer Affairs Representative

Please do NOT reply to this email.  If you would like to respond to this message, click on the link below.

http://www.econsumeraffairs.com/wwj/wrigley/ContactUsFollowUp.htm?F1=000630217A&F3=WWEB

Published in: on March 6, 2010 at 10:52 pm  Leave a Comment  

Tootsie Rolls Halal Again

Just heard back from Tootsie Roll that all Tootsie Roll product except “Junior Mints” are OK for Muslims and Vegetartian (not Vegan).

I previously reported them using pork rennet to make the whey used in their products. Now they use microbial rennet and are now kosher certified.

Thank you Tootsie Roll Industries for letting us enjoy our favorite candy again.

---------- Forwarded message ----------
From: Andrews, Susan <@tootsie-roll.com>
Date: Tue, Feb 9, 2010 at 9:09 AM
Subject: RE: TRI Website - Contact Request
To: Ali Rizvi

The rennet is microbial.  Tootsie Rolls are under kosher 
certification now.

Thanks for the interest.



From: Ali Rizvi Sent: Monday, February 08, 2010 6:18 PM To: Andrews, Susan Cc: Ali Rizvi Subject: Re: TRI Website - Contact Request One more quick clarification, are you using microbial rennet now for producing the whey in your products. When I checked last time Tootsie Roll whey was being produced using pig rennet. Thank you for your quick response. Regards, Ali On Mon, Feb 8, 2010 at 1:27 PM, Andrews, Susan <@tootsie-roll.com> wrote: Ali, thank you for contacting us.  Only Junior Mints contain pork based gelatin. All our other products do not contain any animal product. We hope this helps.
From: Ali Rizvi Sent: Sunday, February 07, 2010 1:56 PM To: @tootsie-roll.com Subject: TRI Website - Contact Request Name Ali Rizvi Title Organization Company Halalist Address City Seattle State WA Zip Phone 2066514254 Question Dear Tootsie Roll People, I would like to know which of your product use animal based ingredients. Following a halal diet I am not concern with Milk, Egg or Honey but care about any products using other animal ingredients. I have heard that some of the tootsie products have animal derived ingredients. A comprehensive list of products with and without  animal products (including which ingredient is derived from animal) would be really helpful. I would like to resume consumption of my favorite tootsie product for myself, my children and our community members and would love to clear up any confusion on my blog. Hope for your prompt response. Regards, Ali Rizvi
Published in: on February 9, 2010 at 2:43 pm  Comments (1)