Vegetarian Cheese List

List of Brands of Vegetarian Cheese (http://cheese.joyousliving.com/CheeseListBrand.aspx)

What is the Cheese List

This site provides information for vegetarians. Cheese can be made with or without rennet which is derived from the stomach tissue of a slaughtered calf. This list specifies those cheeses which are made without the use of rennet. Today more and more cheeses are made with “microbial enzymes” which are widely used in the industry because they are a consistent and inexpensive coagulant. The term “microbial enzyme” means it is a synthetically developed coagulant. The term “vegetable rennet” means it is derived from a vegetable source. Soft cheeses such as cream cheese and cottage cheese are manufactured without rennet. Some cottage cheeses, however, may contain gelatin which is derived from animal sources. All labels should be read carefully.

Published in: on May 12, 2008 at 6:53 am  Comments (4)  
Tags: ,