Wrigleys Haraam Products List

Salaam Alaikum,

Some of the products are well known to contain gelatin but products like creme savers surprised me. The only reason I see cremesavers are on this list is because they are created on the same line as Lifesavers Gummies which contain gelatin.

If I understand correctly not all lifesavers are not OK except Lifesavers gummies and fusion but I am sure precaution can be better.

Fi AmaaniLLah
Ali

From: Siddiqui, Yousuf (Al Khobar)
Sent: Saturday, April 19, 2008 5:46 PM
Subject: From Wrigleys Company USA
– Hide quoted text –

Dear Mr. Akbar,
Thank you for contacting us about animal ingredients and our products. To answer to your question, the vast majority of Wrigley products sold in the U.S. are free from ingredients of animal origin, including egg and dairy products. At present, the only chewing gum exceptions are Extra® Polar Ice stick gum and Juicy Fruit® pellet gums. Extra® Polar Ice gum and Orbit® Crystal Mint contain tiny flavor beads encased in a microscopic layer of gelatin, which is animal based. We have requested the development of a gelatin-free flavor bead that is currently being worked on by our supplier.

Juicy Fruit Grapermelon and Strappleberry gums use
shellac as a coating agent. The different varieties of our ALTOIDS mints do contain very small quantities of gelatin which is derived from pork. Gelatin does not impart any flavor to ALTOIDS, but it’s a necessary ingredient for the texture of the mint. When we use gelatin it is thoroughly purified and dried during its manufacturing process. Our staff is continually looking at alternatives to animal gelatin, but at the moment we’ve not been able to find a substitute that produces the same quality you’ve come to love with ALTOIDS.
Our LifeSaver gummies do contain small quantities of gelatin, which is also derived from pork. It follows the same drying and purifying process as with the
Altoids. If your diet does not allow you to consume animal byproducts such as dairy, our CremeSaver line does contain cream, which is a dairy byproduct. On the same note, our LifeSaver Fusions and LifeSaver gummies are produced on the same line as our
CremeSavers, so there is a chance of cross contamination. Our CremeSaver soft chews also contain a small amount of gelatin, which is pork based. We hope this information has been helpful and thanks again for contacting the Wrigley Company.
Sincerely,
Ryné King
Consumer Affairs Representative
============================================

Therefore according to the info above the following products of theirs are Haram:

Extra® Polar Ice
stick gum and Juicy Fruit® pellet gums.
Extra® Polar Ice gum and Orbit® Crystal Mint
Juicy Fruit Grapermelon and Strappleberry gums
ALTOIDS mints
Our LifeSaver gummies
CremeSaver
LifeSaver Fusions and LifeSaver

The remaining are halal

Image of Wrigleys Products to Avoid

Advertisements
Published in: on May 12, 2008 at 7:01 am  Comments (8)  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://halalist.wordpress.com/2008/05/12/wrigleys-haraam-products-list/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

8 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Thanks !

  2. Brother thank you soo much for helping us…May Allah have mercy on you…May Allah take you to jannah,,,May Allah reward you on the day of Judgment…May Allah send happiness upon your family…

    Thank you sooo much once again
    Don’t give up found some more information

    and Please email me back i need to have contact with you..

  3. JazakAllah brother for the info that you have published. May Allah reward you eternaly for your effort.

  4. im still not sure there is this other orbit not crystal mint and it says it has geletin and is it kosher????

  5. wow!
    thanks for the info

  6. this did not help me at all
    i jus wanted to knw is wringles hala?

  7. As-salaam-o alaikum,

    The following response was received from Wrigley’s on Feb. 21, 2011. InshaAllah, it should help further clarify which Wrigley’s chewing gums, etc. are halal and which ones should be avoided.

    If you wish to have further clarification, it’s very easy and convenient to contact them; just cut and paste this link in a new browser window/tab and ask them directly – http://www.wrigley.com/global/contact-us/contact-form.aspx or if you are in the US or Canada, you can call them at 1-800-WRIGLEY.

    Your duas are sincerely requested for my parents, my family, myself and all Muslims.

    Was-salaam,
    Soulat.

    ========================

    Date: Mon, 21 Feb 2011 14:08:01 -0600
    From: DONOTREPLY@WRIGLEY.COM
    Subject: In response to your Website comments # {ticketno:[8000109748]}
    To:

    Thank you for contacting the Wrigley Company to inquire about the use of animal-derived ingredients in our products sold in the United States.

    The majority of Wrigley products sold in the U.S. are free from ingredients of animal origin, including egg and dairy products. A list of these acceptable products is included or attached with this response.

    While a small percentage of the products we sell in the U.S. may contain ingredients of animal origin, we take great strides to ensure our products are free from any animal-based ingredients in geographies with dietary restrictions preventing such ingredients. For example, all Wrigley products sold in the Middle East and Indonesia are free from animal-derived ingredients.

    Our priority is, and always will be, to manufacture only the highest quality confectionery products using ingredients that meet the needs of our customers around the world. By understanding our global customers and adjusting product offerings accordingly, we are able to deliver great tasting confections to more than 180 countries.

    We hope this information is helpful. If you have any additional questions or comments please feel free to contact us at 1-800-WRIGLEY Monday through Friday from 8:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. CST.

    U.S. Wrigley Products Without Animal-Derived Ingredients

    • Wrigley’s Spearmint® gum
    • Doublemint® gum and mints
    • Big Red® gum
    • Juicy Fruit® stick gum
    • Winterfresh® gum
    • Five® Cobalt, Rain, Flare, Lush, Solstice, Zing and React Fruit gums
    • Extra® Cinnamon, Classic Bubble Gum, Peppermint, Spearmint, Winterfresh, Sweet Watermelon, Supermint, Berry Pearadise, Fruit Sensations, Mango and Berry Smoothie and Dessert Delights flavors
    • Eclipse® gum and mints
    • Hubba Bubba® chunk and tape gums
    • Big League Chew® shredded gum
    • Freedent® gum
    • Orbit® Bubblemint, Wintermint, Lime Melon, Pina Colada, Positively Pomegranate, Strawberry Mint, Peppermint, Spearmint, Cinnamint, Sweetmint, Citrusmint, Maui Melon Mint, Mint Mojito, Raspberry Mint and Sangria Fresca
    • Orbit® WhiteTM pellet gums
    • LifeSavers® hard candies and LifeSavers® lollipops
    • Altoids® Sours and Altoids® gum
    • Skittles® candies

    Note: Slight changes to product recipes can occur from time to time. Please feel free to contact us at 1-800-WRIGLEY any time to answer any ingredient questions that arise.

    Sincerely,

    Barbra North
    Consumer Care Representative

    8000109748


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: