Tootsie Rolls Halal Again

Just heard back from Tootsie Roll that all Tootsie Roll product except “Junior Mints” are OK for Muslims and Vegetartian (not Vegan).

I previously reported them using pork rennet to make the whey used in their products. Now they use microbial rennet and are now kosher certified.

Thank you Tootsie Roll Industries for letting us enjoy our favorite candy again.

---------- Forwarded message ----------
From: Andrews, Susan <@tootsie-roll.com>
Date: Tue, Feb 9, 2010 at 9:09 AM
Subject: RE: TRI Website - Contact Request
To: Ali Rizvi

The rennet is microbial.  Tootsie Rolls are under kosher 
certification now.

Thanks for the interest.



From: Ali Rizvi Sent: Monday, February 08, 2010 6:18 PM To: Andrews, Susan Cc: Ali Rizvi Subject: Re: TRI Website - Contact Request One more quick clarification, are you using microbial rennet now for producing the whey in your products. When I checked last time Tootsie Roll whey was being produced using pig rennet. Thank you for your quick response. Regards, Ali On Mon, Feb 8, 2010 at 1:27 PM, Andrews, Susan <@tootsie-roll.com> wrote: Ali, thank you for contacting us.  Only Junior Mints contain pork based gelatin. All our other products do not contain any animal product. We hope this helps.
From: Ali Rizvi Sent: Sunday, February 07, 2010 1:56 PM To: @tootsie-roll.com Subject: TRI Website - Contact Request Name Ali Rizvi Title Organization Company Halalist Address City Seattle State WA Zip Phone 2066514254 Question Dear Tootsie Roll People, I would like to know which of your product use animal based ingredients. Following a halal diet I am not concern with Milk, Egg or Honey but care about any products using other animal ingredients. I have heard that some of the tootsie products have animal derived ingredients. A comprehensive list of products with and without  animal products (including which ingredient is derived from animal) would be really helpful. I would like to resume consumption of my favorite tootsie product for myself, my children and our community members and would love to clear up any confusion on my blog. Hope for your prompt response. Regards, Ali Rizvi
Advertisements
Published in: on February 9, 2010 at 2:43 pm  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://halalist.wordpress.com/2010/02/09/tootsie-rolls-halal-again/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. […] Tootsie Roll Not OK Update (2010-02-09) : Tootsie Roll Halal Again […]


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: