Mars Chocolates Using Animal Based Product

Update: My sister called Mars today ( 07/09/2008 ) and Mars told her that they reverted back to vegetarian alternative to rennet in UK (as the commenter indicated) and they never switched in US. So we can all enjoy our favorite chocolates. This proves the point that consumers can affect corporate decisions if they get together. I hope we can convince Frito-Lays to go back to vegetarian friendly rennet alternative.

According to this BBC new:

Mars starts using animal products (http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/business/6653175.stm) Mars started using animal based rennet instead of vegetarian alternative.

Mars/Masterfood products having best before date after 1 October 2007 would contain rennet (animal product).

Here are some of the products made by them:

Bounty
Celebrations
Dove Chocolate
Flyte
Galaxy
Kudos
Lockets
M-Azing
Maltesers
M&M’s
Mars Bar
Mars Delight
Milky Way
Minstrels
Mars Planet
Skittles
Snixkers
Starbur st
3 Musketeers
Topic
Twix
Snicker’s Marathon Energy BAr
Aquadrops

Advertisements
Published in: on July 9, 2008 at 7:53 am  Comments (4)  
Tags: , , ,